Radhika Sweets

by Ashish

Bengalis rock at art, literature and music.

And I’m not just saying that because, you know. Nudge, nudge. Wide-eyed innocence.

But above all, they are supreme in the art of making sweets.

Still more wide eyed innocence.

And personally speaking, the kheer kadam rules the roost. It’s the supreme Bengali achievement. Just magnificent. How on earth do they manage to get a rasagolla into a ladoo covering – and I can’t describe it better than that – is beyond me.

You look at it, and looks for all the world like a white laddoo. You bite into it, and your eyes widen in surprise as you experience that moist soft texture. And then you gobble a couple more, and a couple more after that.

Well, I don’t know about you, but I do. Gobble.

Simply superb. The best ones are had at Radhika, right next to the chowpatty at the end of Senapati Bapat Road.

And if you know of any better, please to be letting me know.

