That little building?

by Ashish

Yes, that little building – that’s Fergusson’s economic department. Situated miles away from anywhere, it stands in defiant slendour on the other side of a large ground, right at the very edge of Fergusson’s boundary.

I don’t know how long it has been there, and I don’t know if they ever plan to shift it away from there, but right now, that’s where it’s at.

Consisting of not more than five rooms, the department is run down, dilapidated, and alone. There are no projectors, no laptops (hah!) and there’s a library that is hosted in four Godrej steel cupboards. I know not how it functions, but it runs an undergraduate course, and a postgraduate course in economics.

It was where I learnt about economics, for three years  -and I’ll always have fond memories of the place.

But the department deserves a better place, that much for sure.

